who doesn’t like a gift?

Today is day one of sharing about each of the five love ‘languages’ which are physical touch, words of affirmation, gifts, quality time, and acts of service.

Let’s look at gifts today. What does the love ‘language’ gift mean?

Well, according to the Dictionary app, gift means: something given voluntarily without payment in return, as to show favor toward someone, honor an occasion, or make a gesture of assistance. In other words, a gift can be a physical present.

It also means something bestowed or acquired without any particular effort by the recipient or without its being earned. Someone can receive the gift of bonus points on a test from a curved grade for example.

Having a gift is possessing a special ability or capacity; natural endowment; talent. These are usually God-given so be thankful for the gifts He has blessed you with.

“As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace I Peter 4.10

Gifts can come in many forms but, the greatest is grace undeserved! That is what we all receive when we accept God’s free gift of salvation.

What a gift!

What a Savior!

How blessed we are to receive this. Think about that for a minute: grace undeserved. Without prompting, our response should be to profusely thank God that we don’t get what we do deserve.

“For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 6.23

Let’s think for a moment about gift giving. When we give a gift to someone they don’t necessarily deserve it nor is it always expected. If we think of birthdays, many cultures in the world do not celebrate them with gift giving. Just because someone is born or it is their birthday, doesn’t automatically mean they deserve a gift. Of course not, right? But, we give them undeserved anyway.

Today think about how you can give gifts to others. One way is by loving yourself and then giving a piece of your heart away. Love certainly is a gift to give away.

But remember: How one feels love may not be how another gives love. As we go through each of the five love ‘languages’, I pray you are able to recognize what works best for you and then clearly tell the ones you love so they can fill up your love tank. Also, start to begin seeing what the preferred love ‘language’ is for others in your life. It usually is different than you which is why understanding the five ‘languages’ will make it easier for you to give and receive love.

It will truly transform the way you can…


Remember: Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above…” James 1.27

Take yours and give them away.

© 2019 be.the.church aclearberry all rights reserved

3 thoughts on “who doesn’t like a gift?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s